Kuldej Sinthawanarong (Thailand) is CEO and co-founder of JARKEN group of companies, a multidisciplinary design and professional business. Over the last 12 years, Kuldej and his team have grown JARKEN into an international consultancy, which has won multiple awards with a core competency in creativity, and top-notch design expertise of over 500 residential, commercial and retail projects.

To ensure that JARKEN remains a leading firm in the design and construction industry, Kuldej has launched a new marketing campaign, which has resulted in a well-established and fastest-growing design brand Pye and a creative-brand agency TigerLily. JARKEN was also the first Thai company to be invited to MAISON&OBJET Asia 2015 and International Furniture Fair Singapore 2015 to share its design trends, business strategies and success story to professional designers, students and top-notch developers and investors. JARKEN has now become one of Thailand’s top comprehensive architectural, interior design and, most recently, branding agency.


Lai Siew Hong (Malaysia) has been creating innovative design solutions for interior space planning and corporate identity for a wide variety of clients over the last 25 years. Prior to Blu Water Studio, he spent 19 years in Axis Identity Group, with his last position being the Design Director for Axis Identity Group and Managing Director of Axis Network Design Consultants Sdn Bhd, one of Malaysia’s leading interior design company.

Throughout his career, he has received numerous awards, both locally as well as internationally. One of his recent accolade was his project, Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa (Langkawi), which has been recognised for its outstanding design in the F&B and hospitality categories in the Asia Pacific Interior Design Awards (APIDA) and Malaysian Interior Design Awards (MIDA) 2012. His other award-winning projects include The Westin Kuala Lumpur, Park Plaza Kuala Lumpur, Accenture Malaysia and Aloft KL Sentral. His design concept for Jin & Ina Japanese & Chinese Restaurant in Hong Kong has won him various accolades such as the MIID Reka Awards 2013 (Silver) as well as in the Asia Pacific Interior Design Awards 2013.

Siew Hong is an active board member of The Entrepreneurs’ Organisation (EO) since 2003. He is also a council member of the Malaysian Institute of Designers (MIID), which is the national institute representing the interior design profession in Malaysia from 2016 to 2018. He graduated from the State University of New York with an Associate Degree in Applied Science Interior Design.

  Yuko Nagayama (Japan) is a graduate from Showa Woman’s University and is the founder of Yuko Nagayama & Associates in 2002. She had lectured part-time at The University of Tokyo (2005), Kyoto Seika University (2008), Showa Women’s University (2009), Ocyanomizu University (2010) and Nagoya Institute of Technology (2011).

An award-winning architect, Yuko, has clinched the following awards: 2nd Prize in the Nakanoshima Railway Station Design Competition (2004); JCD Design Award  ”LOUIS VUITTON Kyoto”, 2nd Prize in the Concept House of "Tsukuba Style" Design Competition, and L’ORÉAL Art and Science of Color Prize (2005); AR Awards for Emerging Architecture (2006); finalist in TAYA Renewal Competition and finalist in the School Building Competition of Kyoai Gakuen College (2010); Architectural Record Award in the Design Vanguard (2012); and JIA Young Architect Award for the Teshima Yokoo House (2014).

Some of her present-day works include: L'Espoir Blanc and Katsutadai House in 2013; IZAMA, Gokoku-ya, Lucieo Tokyo, EDIT LIFE Singapore and Henri Charpentie in 2014; as well as Harney & Sons in 2015.

Yuko has participated in the following recent exhibitions: The Color and the Form of Architects, Turner Gallery Tokyo (2010); Dojima River Biennale 2011; Kenchiku/Architecture (6 Japanese and 6 French young architects meet in Paris) in 2011 and 2013; and the exhibition of EYE of GYRE, Tokyo in 2013.


Assessment Committee

The Assessment Committee consists of executives from BCI Asia.

The Assessment Committee will ensure the validity of all entries according to fulfillment of the Competition Conditions and to prepare the materials for the Jury. It has no role in judging the submissions.